السلام من خلال التنمية الثانية (PDevII)

قام برنامج PDev ، من البداية إلى النهاية ، بتوصيل الأشخاص وتمكينهم من بناء شبكتهم الخاصة من أجل السلام.

مشروع -
بوركينا فاسو, تشاد, النيجر, الساحل

بفضل EAI ، لم شمل مجتمعاتنا ، ونحن أكثر تسامحًا مع بعضنا البعض - حتى القرويين تأثروا ؛ كما تحسنت جودة محطتنا الإذاعية بشكل ملحوظ ، وكذلك المستمع ".

- حبيبو يانتاكاشي ، فيلنغوي ، النيجر

بناءً على نجاح PDev I ، تم اختيار EAI كشريك رئيسي في كونسورتيوم في الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية USAID ، برنامج السلام من خلال التنمية (PDev II) بين عامي 2011 و 2016 في بوركينا فاسو ، تشاد ، والنيجر. توسعت EAI في الاتصالات الأصلية لبرامج التغيير الاجتماعي التي بنيت بنجاح كبير في PDev I واستفادت منها لتشمل تشاد. استخدمت EAI مجموعة كاملة من الأدوات لضمان نجاح PDev II في دمج التخطيط للاستدامة والمشاركة المجتمعية والدوائر الإذاعية ؛ تدريب صحفي ومراسل مجتمعي وباحث ، بالإضافة إلى تدريب ميسر LDAG وأخيراً قدرة إعلامية كبيرة وإدارة محطات الراديو والتدريب على الإنتاج.

مثل PDev 1 ، أنتجت EAI ثلاثة أنواع من البرامج الإذاعية في كل بلد ، والتي شملت برامج الشباب ، وبرامج الحكم الرشيد ، وبرمجة CVE. لضمان وصول المجتمعات المعنية إلى البرمجة ، قامت EAI بترجمة المواد إلى تسع لغات محلية وإقليمية.

كان لدى هذه البرامج الإذاعية قدرة وصول واستماع تقدر بأكثر من 17 مليون شخص في جميع البلدان الثلاثة.

حلقة ردود الفعل التفاعلية: دمج EAI تقنيات الهاتف المحمول في المشروع. عملت الفرق مع المنصات المحمولة مثل الرسائل القصيرة الأمامية، نظام لإدارة حملات الرسائل القصيرة تم تطويره خصيصًا للاستخدام من قبل المؤسسات غير الربحية لدمج حملات الرسائل القصيرة مع البرامج الإذاعية وأنشطة المشروع. باستخدام هذا البرنامج المفتوح المصدر ، تمكنا من دمج تفاعل تفاعلي يسمح للجماهير بإرسال أسئلة أو تعليقات أو طلبات عبر رسالة نصية (SMS). بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، بدأ EAI نظام الرد الصوتي التفاعلي (IVR) المتكامل ، والذي مكّن ردود الفعل المجهولة والدراسات الاستقصائية وجمع البيانات بالإضافة إلى التعليقات النقدية الهامة حول البرمجة التي استخدمناها للتأقلم والتكيف من أجل خدمة جمهورنا بشكل أفضل وتحقيق هدفنا.

خرائط الراديو ودعم محطة FM: لتحديد الأرقام الدقيقة لمدى البث الإذاعي لمحطات الراديو الشريكة ، زارت EAI أكثر من 60 محطة في بلدان PDEVII ، وجمعت المعلومات التقنية بما في ذلك ارتفاعات الهوائيات ، وقدرات أجهزة الإرسال ، وإحداثيات GPS الخاصة بالمحطات. باستخدام هذه البيانات ، تمكنت فرقنا من حساب التغطية الجغرافية وتقدير مدى وصول الجمهور لكل محطة. وللمرة الأولى ، أعطى هذا لمحطات الإذاعة المحلية إحساسًا بمدى وصولها الفعلي ، وسمحت لها هذه المعرفة بتركيز مواردها المحدودة بطرق أكثر استهدافًا.

"في رأيي ، رفع مستوى الوعي بين الشباب (VE) هو" عدم التفكير "ومفيد للغاية ، لأنه يسمح للشباب بالانخراط في السياسة والدفاع عن حقوقهم".

بناء القدرات الإعلامية والتدريب:

إضافة إلى توفير محتوى CVE عالي الجودة بلغة محلية للمستمعين في جميع أنحاء المنطقة ، سعى مشروع SO2 الخاص بـ PDev II أيضًا إلى تعزيز وسائل الإعلام المحلية ، لإنشاء مصادر مستدامة للمعلومات ومنصات للحوار والتبادل المفتوح. بحلول نهاية المشروع ، كان PDev II يعمل مع 14 محطة إذاعية شريكة في بوركينا فاسو و 19 في تشاد و 40 في النيجر. في الأولين ، كان التدريب مع المحطات الإذاعية يتألف في معظمه من المهارات التقنية الأساسية وتطوير المحتوى لإعداد التقارير والإنتاج الإذاعي ، وكذلك تحديث معدات المحطات الإذاعية وتعزيز البنية التحتية لإنتاج محتوى عالي الجودة.

في العامين الثالث والرابع ، يصبح التدريب أكثر تقدماً ، بما في ذلك موضوعات متخصصة مثل إنشاء أنواع محددة من البرمجة ، مثل الاتصال المباشر والدراما وتثبيت نظام التعليق على الرسائل النصية القصيرة - بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، مديري محطات الاستدامة والتدريب الإداري ومحطات الإدارة تم تنفيذ أعضاء اللجنة.

إعداد المجتمعات للاستدامة: تتركز منهجية EAI المتمحورة حول المجتمع على بناء قدرات الفرق المحلية بهدف تحفيز الإنتاج والعمل المستمر بعد نهاية المشروع. للقيام بذلك مع PDev II ، قدمنا ​​منحًا مدرة للدخل لمحطات مختارة عالية الأداء لتوجيهات المحطات لوضع استراتيجيات الاستدامة لديهم على المحك. قمنا بتنفيذ برامج التوجيه اللاسلكي حيث استضافت المحطات عالية الجودة المنتجين والفنيين المتدربين من المحطات منخفضة الأداء لعدد من الزمالات لمدة أسبوع ، تليها زيارة وتدريب في الموقع في محطة mentee.

أخيرًا ، بناءً على الشبكات المهنية للصحفيين التي بدأت من خلال التوجيهات السابقة ، في السنة الأخيرة من المشروع ، تم استبدال التدريب باجتماعات دوائر الراديو. من خلال توحيد الموظفين من ثلاثة أو أربعة أجهزة راديو داخل منطقة جغرافية محددة ، عملت الدوائر كشبكات إقليمية مستدامة ومستقلة إلى حد كبير للصحفيين. خلال اجتماعات الدائرة ، دُعي موظفو الراديو إلى الاعتماد على بعضهم البعض للحصول على الخبرة والإرشاد وأفضل الممارسات ، وللمشاركة في إنتاج وتبادل محتوى الراديو باللغة المحلية بشأن الموضوعات ذات الصلة الإقليمية للبث عبر محطات متعددة. في نهاية المشروع ، تم تزويد المحطات بكتيب شامل باللغة (الفرنسية أو الهوسا أو العربية حسب الاقتضاء) يحدد التعاليم الرئيسية لنهج EA في الإنتاج الإذاعي ، لتكون بمثابة نقطة مرجعية وراء نهاية المشروع.

طوال المشروع:

  • تم إجراء 40 تدريبًا على الإنتاج الإذاعي للوصول إلى ما يقرب من 600 موظف إذاعي ، من بينهم 17٪ من النساء
  • تم إجراء 15 دورة تدريبية لمراسل صحفي وصحفي وتعداد استقصائي بلغت 247 فردًا ، و 25٪ من النساء
  • تم إجراء 6 دورات لتيسير LDG تدريب 84 فردًا ، 24٪ من النساء

أخيرًا ، تم تنفيذه فورًا بعد PDev II ، والذي تضمن تركيب لوحين شمسيين وإنشاء برجين راديو في تشاد لضمان طول العمر. تعرف على هذا المشروع هنا .

حتى عندما يكون هناك أشخاص في نزاع ، فإن الاستماع إلى حلقاتك يساعدنا في التوفيق بين هؤلاء الأشخاص الذين لا يسعون لتحقيق ذلك. "- رسالة الرد الآلي من ماتين شاهو ، تساوا ، النيجر

وضع الوضع الأمني ​​غير المستقر داخل بلدان PDevII على وسائل الإعلام PDevII على المحك في عدة نقاط خلال عمر المشروع ، مما دفع فرق الإعلام إلى التحرك بسرعة للاستجابة للسياقات السياسية المتطورة وتعظيم تأثير CVE.

خلال الانقلاب 2014 في بوركينا فاسو ، استشهد عدد لا يحصى من المستمعين إذاعة PDevII بأنها ساهمت في جهود حفظ السلام في مجتمعاتهم. عندما واجهت أعمال الشغب والعنف ضد الحكومة التي وقعت أثناء الانقلاب ، جمع البستاني في ولاية أوهايويا مجموعة من 15 من مستمعي إذاعة PDevII المؤمنين لاستعادة السلام لمجتمعهم وحماية عائلة سياسي محلي بارز.

عندما وصل الغوغاء الغاضبون إلى منزل السياسي اعترضناهم وبدأنا ندعو إلى المغفرة. توسطنا ونطالب بها ، وفي النهاية شعر البعض بالاشمئزاز من سلوكهم وألقوا بأنفسهم على الأرض أمامنا ؛ شكر الآخرين لنا وتركنا دون لمس أو كسر أي شيء. لقد شعرنا بالارتياح والسعادة لاستخدامنا ، ولكن يجب أن يقال بصراحة أنه بفضل PDevII ... نحن ندرك أن هذا البرنامج قد علمنا دون أن نلاحظه. لقد زرع فينا روح المغفرة والتسامح ".

راديو بواسطة وللمجتمعات

1,104 الحلقات

للشباب والحكم الرشيد برامج إذاعية أصلية في سبع لغات محلية واثنتان

97% المستمعين

ذكرت أنهم يعتقدون أن البرامج الإذاعية CVE جديرة بالثقة وجذابة

72 مليون

يقدر الوصول إلى المستمعين الراديو ، مع جمهور أسبوعي بانتظام من 3.5 مليون

شريك معنا

لإنشاء المجتمعات من أجل الاستدامة.

معرفة المزيد

Peace Through Development II (PDevII)

The PDev program, from start to finish, connected people and empowered them to build their own network for peace.

A Project of
Burkina Faso, Chad, Niger, Sahel

Thanks to EAI, our communities have reunited, and we are more tolerant with each other – even the villagers have been affected; also the quality of our radio station has noticeably improved, and so has listenership.”

– Habibou Yantakashe, Fillingué, Niger

Building on the success of PDev I, EAI was chosen as a key consortium partner in USAID’s, Peace through Development program (PDev II) between 2011 and 2016 in Burkina Faso, Chad, and Niger. EAI scaled and built on the original communications for social change programming that was wildly successful in PDev I and expanded our reach to include Chad. EAI employed its full gamut of tools to ensure PDev II was a success integrating sustainability planning, community engagement, radio circles; journalist, community reporter, and researcher training, as well as LDAG facilitator training and finally a significant media capacity, radio station management, and production training. 

Like PDev 1, EAI produced three types of radio programs in each country, which included youth programming, good governance programming, and CVE programming. To ensure the communities of interest could access the programming, EAI translated the material into nine local and regional languages. 

These radio programs had an estimated reach and listenership of over 17 million people across all three countries.

The Interactive Feedback Loop: EAI incorporated mobile technologies into the project. The teams worked with mobile platforms such as Frontline SMS, an SMS campaign management system developed specifically for use by non‐profits to integrate SMS campaigns with the radio programs and project activities. Using this open source software we were able to incorporate a breakthrough interactivity allowing audiences to send questions, comments or requests via text message (SMS). Additionally, EAI started integrated interactive voice response (IVR) system, which enabled anonymous feedback, surveys, and data collection as well as critical feedback about the programming we used to pivot and adjust to better serve our audience and meet our goal.

Radio Mapping and FM Station Support: To determine accurate figures of the broadcast reach of the partner radio stations, EAI visited over 60 stations in the PDEVII countries, compiling technical information including the heights of the antennas, capacities of the transmitters, and GPS coordinates of the stations. With this data, our teams were able to calculate the geographical coverage and estimated audience reach for each station. For the first time, this gave the local radio stations a sense of their actual reach and this knowledge allowed them to focus their limited resources in more targeted ways.

“In my opinion, raising awareness [of VE] among youth is a ‘no-brainer’ and very beneficial, because it allows youth to be engaged in politics and defend their rights."

Media Capacity Build and Training:

Beyond providing high-quality, local language CVE content to listeners across the region, PDev II’s SO2 also sought to strengthen local media, to create sustainable sources of information and platforms for open debate and exchange. By the end of the project, PDev II was working with 14 partner radio stations in Burkina Faso, 19 in Chad, and 40 in Niger. In the first two, the training with radio stations consisted mostly of basic technical skills and content development for reporting and radio production as well as modernizing radio station equipment and bolstering infrastructure to produce high-quality content.

In the third and fourth year, the training becomes more advanced including specialized topics such as the creation of specific genres of programming, e.g., live call-ins, drama, SMS feedback system installation — additionally, sustainability and management training targeting stations directors and management committee members were implemented.

Setting Communities Up for Sustainability: EAI’s community-centered methodology is centered on building the capacity of local teams with the goal of instigating ongoing production and action following the end of the project. To do this with PDev II, we provided income-generating grants for select high-performing stations for stations directions to put their sustainability strategies to the test. We implemented radio mentoring programs where quality stations hosted intern producers and technicians from low-performing stations for several week fellowships, followed by a visit and on-site training at the mentee’s station.

Finally, Building on the professional networks of journalists begun through earlier mentorships, in the final year of the project, training was replaced by meetings of Radio Circles. Uniting staff from three or four radios within a specific geographic area, Circles acted as sustainable and largely independent regional networks of journalists. During Circle meetings, radio staff was invited to rely on each other for expertise, mentorship, and best practices, and to co-produce and exchange local language radio content on regionally-relevant themes for broadcast across multiple stations. At the conclusion of the project, stations were provided with a thorough handbook in (French, Hausa or Arabic as appropriate) outlining the main teachings of EA’s approach to radio production, to serve as a point of reference beyond the end of the project.

Throughout the project:

  • 40 radio production training took place reaching nearly 600 radio staff, including 17% of women
  • 15 Community Reporter, Journalist, and Survey Enumeration Trainings took place reaching 247 individuals, 25% women
  • 6 LDG Facilitator training took place training 84 individuals, 24% of women

Finally,  implemented immediately following PDev II, which involved installing two solar panels and constructing two radio towers in Chad to ensure longevity. Learn about that project here.

Even when there are people who are in conflict, listening to your episodes helps us be able to reconcile these people who are not getting along.” – IVR message from Matine Shaho, Tessaoua, Niger

The volatile security situation within the PDevII countries put PDevII media to the test at several points during the project lifespan, prompting media teams act rapidly to respond to evolving political contexts and maximize CVE impact.

During Burkina Faso’s 2014 coup d’etat, myriad listeners cited PDevII radio as having contributed to peace keeping efforts in their communities.  When faced with the riots and violence against the government that occurred during the coup, Ouahigouya gardener Ibrahim Touré gathered a group of 15 faithful PDevII radio listeners to restore peace to their community and protect the family of a prominent local politician.

“When the angry mob arrived at the politician’s house we intercepted them and start calling for forgiveness. We mediated and plead with them, and in the end some of them were disgusted by their own behavior and threw themselves to the ground before us; others thanked us and left without touching or breaking anything. We were relieved and happy to be of use, but it must be said honestly that it was thanks to PDevII…we recognize that this program has educated us without us even noticing. It cultivated in us the spirit of forgiveness and tolerance.”

Radio By and For Communities

1,104 Episodes

Of youth and good governance original radio programs in seven local and two regional langauges

97% Listeners

Reported they thought the CVE radio programs were trustworthy and appealing

72 Million

Estimated reach of radio listeners, with a regularly weekly audience of 3.5 million