وجهان لعملة واحدة؟ فحص المسارات المعرفية والنفسية التي تؤدي إلى التمكين والتطرف

يستكشف هذا التقرير نموذجًا جديدًا لإعادة توجيه التطرف العنيف والتشابه بين التمكين والتطرف.

مشروع -
نيجيريا, الساحل, بناء السلام وتحويل التطرف, الإعلام التشاركي والتكنولوجياوالبحث والتعلم

هل هناك ارتباط بين التمكين والتطرف؟ يتعامل المجتمع مع أحدهما على أنه هدف يجب دعمه ، بينما يتعامل الآخر مع الآخر ويخشى منه - لماذا؟ يفحص هذا التقرير النظريات الرئيسية للتمكين والتطرف لفهم القواسم المشتركة بينهما ويحدد الفرص لإنشاء منحدرات مفعلة من العنف إلى المشاركة المدنية غير العنيفة.

مثلما تحتوي العديد من اللقاحات على جرعات صغيرة من الفيروس الحي ، فإن التطرف يحتوي على جرعات صغيرة أو عناصر مشتركة من التمكين. هذا لا يعني أن النتائج المرجوة هي نفسها ، بل تشابه العملية. "

القواسم المشتركة بين التمكين والتطرف أقرب مما يعتقده المرء. يفحص هذا التقرير المبتكر والمفصل فرصة إعادة صياغة التمكين بحيث يكون على دراية بفهم عميق لما يجعل التطرف كليًا وسريعًا جدًا وقويًا للغاية لإحداث تغيير شخصي واجتماعي تحويلي.

في هذا التقرير ، قام المؤلفون بتشريح المعايير المفترضة لـ "التمكين" باعتبارها إنجازًا مرغوبًا ومدعومًا ، في حين يجب منع "التطرف" والخوف منه. يستكشف هذا التقرير كيف أصبح التناقض بين المصطلحين أمرًا طبيعيًا في الأجندات التخاطبية والسياسية والنظرية ، ويكشف عن العناصر التي تشترك فيها هاتان النظريتان الرئيسيتان.  

في نهاية المطاف ، فإن الغرض من هذا الاستكشاف هو رفع وتحويل العمليات والسلوكيات المدمرة في كثير من الأحيان المرتبطة بالتطرف لتحقيق نتائج إيجابية مؤيدة للمجتمع. بدلاً من الاعتماد على مناهج التطرف العنيف (CVE) التي تهدف إلى منع التطرف أو التأكيد على إزالة التطرف ، والتي لها قيود متأصلة وكثيراً ما تنكر الأصول المحتملة للشباب الراديكالي ، يستكشف هذا التقرير مزايا عملية تشبه "إعادة التطرف" . "(Sieckelink 2016؛ Nema 2016)

وفقًا لهذه المراجعة ، غالبًا ما تستند برامج إزالة التطرف إلى التوافق ، مما يضع عبء الإصلاح وإعادة التأهيل على عاتق الفرد "المتطرف". يجادل المؤلفون بأن هذا لا يزيل فقط العناصر الأساسية للهوية المختارة للفرد ونظام المعتقدات والمسار ، بل يفشل هذا النهج أيضًا في مطالبة المجتمعات أو المؤسسات أو الدول بالاعتراف بمساهماتها أو الضغط من أجل التغيير.

توضح هذه الورقة أنه لكي تكون أكثر فعالية ، تحتاج برمجة CVE إلى التعرف على الأصول المحتملة للشباب الراديكالي وتعزيزها وتوجيهها - مثل الوكالة والالتزام والقيادة والفعالية الذاتية - وتفحص إمكانية إعادة توجيه نبضاتهم ومواقفهم و السلوكيات من التطرف العنيف نحو التمكين المدني غير العنيف.

Two sides of the same coin? An examination of cognitive and phychosocial pathways leading to empowerment and radicalization

This report explores a new model for reorienting violent radicalization and the similarities between empowerment and radicalization.

Research of
Nigeria, Sahel, Building Peace & Transforming Extremism, Participatory Media & Technology, Research & Learning

Is there a link between empowerment & radicalization? Society treats one as a goal to be supported, while the other is shunned and feared – why? This report examines key theories of empowerment and radicalization to understand their commonalities and identifies opportunities for creating empowered off ramps from violence towards non-violent civic engagement.

Just as many vaccines contain small doses of live virus, radicalization does contain small doses, or shared elements, of empowerment. That is not to suggest that the desired outcomes are the same, but rather a similarity of process.”

The commonalities between empowerment and radicalization are closer than one thinks. This innovative and detailed report examines the opportunity to reframe empowerment so that it is informed by a deep understanding of what makes radicalization so total, so quick, and so potent a path for creating transformative personal and social change.

In this report, the authors dissect the assumed standards of “empowerment”  as a desired and supported achievement, whereas “radicalization” is to be prevented and feared. Exploring how the contrast between the two terms became normalized in conversational, political, and theoretical agendas, this report unravels what elements these two key theories share.  

Ultimately, the purpose of this exploration is to leverage and transform the often-destructive processes and behaviors associated with radicalization for positive, pro-social outcomes. Instead of relying on countering violent extremism (CVE) approaches that aim to prevent radicalization or emphasize de-radicalization, which have inherent limitations and often deny the potential assets of radicalized youth, this report explores the merits of a process akin to “re-radicalization.” (Sieckelink 2016; Nema 2016)

According to this review, de-radicalization programs are often premised on conformity, in essence placing the burden for reform and rehabilitation on the “radicalized” individual. The authors argue that this not only strips away core elements of an individual’s chosen identity, belief system, and path, this approach also fails to demand that societies, institutions, or states acknowledge their contributions or push for change.

This paper argues that to be more effective, CVE programming needs to recognize, enhance, and channel potential assets of radicalized youth – such as agency, commitment, leadership, and self-efficacy – and examines the possibility of reorienting their impulses, attitudes, and behaviors from violent radicalization towards non-violent civic empowerment.