White Dove (Farar Tattabara) مركز المراسلة في شمال نيجيريا وبحيرة بحيرة تشاد

ينتج هذا المشروع وينشر برامج إذاعية وتليفزيونية ووسائط اجتماعية مبتكرة لتعزيز الروايات المحلية الإيجابية التي تقلل من التعرض للتطرف العنيف في شمال نيجيريا وحوض بحيرة تشاد. 2016 إلى الوقت الحاضر

مشروع -
نيجيريا, الساحلوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية

مهمة المشروع - لخلق تغيير اجتماعي إيجابي لملايين الأشخاص الذين يعانون من نقص الخدمات في جميع أنحاء شمال نيجيريا ، من خلال توفير المعلومات والتعليم التي تمس الحاجة إليها من خلال وسائل الإعلام المبتكرة التكنولوجيا المناسبة والمشاركة المباشرة للمجتمع.

لم يكن هناك أشخاص يبحثون عنه. لكن الآن مع برنامج Ina Mafita [الراديو] ، لدينا أمل وبدأنا نرى أنفسنا الحل.

- المستمع الشاب من ولاية بورنو (عضو سابق في بوكو حرام ، وهو الآن متطوع في قوة دفاع عن النفس في المجتمع)

تم إطلاقه في سبتمبر 2016 بدعم سخي من السفارة الأمريكية في أبوجا ، The White Dove (فار تاتابارا، في الهوسا) أصبحت Messaging Hub منصة اتصالات وبناء السلام ذات العلامة التجارية المحلية الشهيرة في شمال نيجيريا وحوض بحيرة تشاد.

يقوم Farar Tattabara ببناء القدرة على الصمود الاجتماعي للتطرف العنيف من خلال برنامج يركز على المجتمع ويرتكز على محور المراسلة عبر الوسائط التي توفر روايات بديلة ذات مصداقية لأيديولوجية بوكو حرام والتجنيد في شمال نيجيريا وحوض بحيرة تشاد.

إننا نقوم بذلك عن طريق تضخيم أصوات الشباب والروايات الإيجابية التي تقلل من التعرض للتطرف العنيف ، وتشجع على الانشقاق عن الجماعات المسلحة ، وخلق طرق بديلة قابلة للتطبيق للشباب الضعفاء والمستبعدين اجتماعيًا. تشمل أنشطة البرنامج الرئيسية حتى الآن:

  • ثلاثة برامج إذاعية CVE وتغيير سلوك أصلي (أكثر من 200 ساعة من المحتوى بثت حتى الآن) التي لديها بث وصول أكثر من 20 مليون مستمع أسبوعي في جميع ولايات شمال نيجيريا التسعة عشر
  • تغيير السلوك البرامج التلفزيونية على محطة التلفزيون شريكنا ، AREWA24الذي يصل 38 مليون مشاهد أسبوعي في نيجيريا وعبر غرب إفريقيا
  • محو الأمية الرقمية والقيادة وبناء القدرات التقنية من خلال الابتكار معسكرات التكنولوجيا و Hackathons لمئات من الشباب المحرومين والمهمشين
  • 35 مراسلو مجتمع مدربون إنتاج محتوى وسائط محلي وتسهيل مجموعات الاستماع لرصد وتقييم تأثير برمجة الوسائط الخاصة بـ EAI
  • 63 زميلا مدربين لتعزيز السلام العمل على معالجة الدوافع الرئيسية للتطرف العنيف والإقصاء الاجتماعي للشباب في شمال نيجيريا (بما في ذلك 12 مشاركًا في برنامج تمكين الشباب Matasa @ 24 الرائد في AREWA360 وسبعة تم اختيارهم YALI الزملاء)
  • البحث الرائد تسليط الضوء على العلاقة بين التطرف والتمكين ، بهدف تعزيز الأبطال والوكالة للشباب الراديكالي والمعرضين للخطر في دعم التماسك الاجتماعي وإعادة التأهيل والمشاركة المدنية

الآن في عامها الرابع ، بتمويل من مركز المشاركة العالمي التابع لوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية بامتداد من سفارة الولايات المتحدة في نيجيريا ، تقوم EAI بدمج هذه الجهود المختلفة في مركز مراسلات CVE شامل ومستدام تحت العلامة التجارية Farar Tattabara.

ويشمل ذلك إدرار الإيرادات التجارية وغيرها ، والبرامج التلفزيونية والإذاعية ، والتواصل المجتمعي ، والمسابقات والحملات عبر الإنترنت ، ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والمبادرات التي تعتمد على التكنولوجيا ، والأبحاث التطبيقية ، والتدريب على الرسائل البديلة وتوجيهها لقادة الشباب والمؤثرين الرئيسيين.

مع توسعنا ، نقوم بزيادة عمليات المسح الكمي وبحوث البرامج النوعية لمراقبة وتقييم مدى وصول المنصة وتأثيرها ، وتحقيق بعض الكفاءة عبر الجوائز والأنشطة.

يتضمن أساس Farar Tattabara Messaging Hub ثلاث سلاسل إذاعية أصلية مدتها 30 دقيقة:

  • Ina Mafita ("الطريق إلى الأمام") ، برنامج حواري CVE يركز على الشباب ، من إنتاج EAI ؛
  • Ilimi Abin Nema ("السعي وراء المعرفة") ، وهو برنامج حواري يركز على إصلاح المدارس الإسلامية ، وتربية الأطفال ، وحياة أطفال الماجيري ، من إنتاج EAI ؛ و
  • Labarin Aisha ("Aisha's Tale") ، وهي دراما تعرض قصة وتحديات فتاة شابة نازحة ، عائشة ، وعائلتها وهي تواجه صعوبات ذات صلة ، التي تنتجها EAI بالشراكة مع مسرح Jos Repertory.

بعد ثلاث سنوات من إنتاج وبث محتوى إذاعي عالي الجودة بنجاح في جميع أنحاء شمال نيجيريا ، نركز الآن على الحفاظ على برامجنا الإذاعية الرائدة Farar Tattabara وتوسيع نطاقها. سنستمر في بث برامج الإذاعة Ina Mafita و Ilimi Abin Nepa بتنسيقات أكثر تفاعلية وموضوعات وضيوف أكثر جذبًا. نحن نعمل على تطوير مصادر دخل مستقلة لضمان الاستدامة على المدى الطويل ، ومواصلة توسيع العلامة التجارية Farar Tattabara والهيكل التنظيمي للحفاظ على النمو المستمر.

وباعتبارها العمود الفقري لـ Farar Tattabara Hub ، فإن هذه البرامج هي شريان الحياة لملايين النيجيريين وهي نقطة دخولنا إلى بيوت وعقول الناس. لقد عملنا طوال عام 2019 لمواءمة مهمة Farar Tattabara مع علامتها التجارية ، حتى ترغب الشركات والحكومات والمؤسسات في الارتباط بالمنصة والاستفادة من مدى وصولها.

يوفر Farar Tattabara Hub تأثيرًا كبيرًا وامتدادًا هائلاً ، مع جمهور إذاعي بعشرات الملايين. في عام 2018 ، أطلقنا موقع ويب جديد ، www.farartattabara.com، لتضمين مركز المراسلة لدينا ، بما في ذلك جميع محتويات الوسائط ، والبحث ، والأنشطة ، والموارد الأخرى للمجتمعات المستهدفة. بالنظر إلى الشعبية المتزايدة للبودكاست على مستوى العالم ، فقد جعلنا جميع الحلقات التي سبق بثها متاحة على الإنترنت. يتم طرح منصة الاستماع هذه عبر مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي الخاصة بنا (والتي تضم أكثر من 60,000،XNUMX متابع) ، للوصول إلى جمهور جديد على الإنترنت مقره في نيجيريا وفي المجتمعات الناطقة بالهاوسا حول العالم.

تأثير برمجة الراديو لدينا

على مدار مشروع Farar Tattabara ، أجرت EAI العديد من التقييمات. خلال تقييم قوي لأكثر من 500 شخص ، سأل EAI الناس عما إذا كانوا قد غيروا سلوكياتهم أو مواقفهم حول قضايا مثل اللاعنف ، والإدماج بين الجنسين ، ودعم الشباب نتيجة للاستماع إلى عروضنا. ذكرت تسعين في المئة حدوث تغيير إيجابي في سلوكهم يخبرنا المستمعون أنهم متعطشون لنماذج الأدوار ، وللأمثلة الإيجابية ، وللحصول على معلومات موثوقة وللإلهام. أخبرنا المستمعون بحماس أن "فرار تاتابارا هو شريان الحياة بالنسبة لنا" ، "إننا مافيتا تساعدنا على فهم أنه يمكن تغيير الأشياء السيئة". عندما طُلب منه وصف دور فار ططبارة في حياته ، قال أحد الشباب النازحين داخلياً: "إن مافيتا يشبه المدرسة التي نتعلمها. Ilimi Abin Nema مثل المستشفى حيث نذهب لعلاج أنفسنا ".

وجد التقييم أن برامج Farar Tattabara تعمل على تمكين جيل جديد من نماذج الأدوار والسعاة المطلعين الذين يعملون بنشاط لتحسين حياة عائلاتهم وأصدقائهم ومجتمعاتهم في جميع أنحاء شمال نيجيريا كنتيجة مباشرة للمعلومات والإلهام الذي يتلقونه من عروض.

أبلغ العديد من المستمعين عن بدء أعمال تجارية صغيرة ، والعودة إلى المدرسة ، وإيقاف المخدرات ، ومنع الآخرين من الانضمام إلى الجماعات الإجرامية المسلحة أو المتطرفة بسبب الرسائل التي تنقلها برامجنا المختلفة.

يفيد أولياء الأمور بالبقاء بالقرب من أطفالهم ، خاصةً أولئك الذين يرسلونهم إلى المدارس القرآنية "الماجيري". يفيد القادة الدينيون بأنهم أكثر دعماً لدمج المواد الأكاديمية في مناهج المدارس القرآنية ، بما في ذلك الرياضيات والتاريخ والعلوم واللغة الإنجليزية والمهارات الحياتية. هناك نقاش عام متزايد حول الترابط بين التهميش وإساءة استعمال المخدرات والتطرف العنيف.

أفاد مئات الأشخاص الذين قابلتهم EAI في جميع أنحاء الشمال بتغيير المواقف حول إمكانات الشباب الراديكالي السابق في إعادة تأهيلهم وإعادة دمجهم في المجتمع. يفيد العديد من كبار السن بفهم أفضل للنضال الذي يواجهه الشباب ويريدون دعم الشباب ، بمن فيهم الشباب المتطرف أو المدمن على المخدرات ، لمساعدتهم على تحقيق مستقبل أكثر إشراقًا.

كان لهذا التحول في المعرفة والمواقف والسلوكيات تأثير إيجابي على انشقاقات بوكو حرام ، مع زيادة المبلغ عنها من أجزاء معزولة من بورنو.

  • نتيجة لـ "Ilimi Abin Nema" ، هناك عدد أقل من المدارس الدينية التي ترسل المجريين للتسول في الشوارع بينما يتلقى المزيد منهم التعليم الأكاديمي ، مما يجعلهم قادرين على كسب الرزق وتقليل الشعور بالعزلة والتخلي عن شعور الصبية الصغار الذين يقعون فريسة ل الجماعات المتطرفة والخطابة.
  • نتيجة لـ "Ina Mafita" ، ترحب المجتمعات بالضحايا ومقاتلي بوكو حرام السابقين للعودة إلى مجتمعاتهم ، وهي مجهزة بشكل أفضل لفهم تجربتهم ودعم الشفاء وإعادة الإدماج.
  • ونتيجة لذلك من "إن لبارين عائشة ، "الشابات والمجتمعات النازحة الضعيفة ، أكثر تفاؤلاً بشأن مستقبلهن ، وإطلاعهن على حقوقهن ، وإظهار المرونة في مواجهة الظروف الصعبة.

كوني من دعاة السلام يفي بي رغم أنها كانت رحلة صعبة للغاية. أعتقد أنه في غضون ستة أشهر من زميلتي مع [EAI] ، سأحدث فرقًا في عقول الشباب مثلي لتجنب العنف واحتضان السلام ".

كطفل ، أراد محمد أن يصبح ضابطًا عسكريًا. بدا الأمر كأنه شيء واضح بعد أن تربى في خضم انعدام الأمن المستمر: فقد والديه في الثانية من عمره واضطر إلى الفرار سيراً على الأقدام إلى مايدوجوري ، عاصمة ولاية بورنو ، في أعقاب تمرد في باما. يشعر بالامتنان لقيام أخواته وأعمامه وعماته ، ويقول إن التفاؤل هو المفتاح. يبلغ محمد من العمر 20 عامًا ، يعيش في مايدوجوري مع عمه حيث يكمل شهادته في التسويق. إنه ملتزم بجلب نيجيريا سلمية وخالية من العنف كسفير سلام معتمد.

"يجب أن يكون الشباب متفائلين وأن يعرفوا أن الأشياء الجيدة لا تأتي بسهولة وأن يعلموا أن النجاح لا يأتي إليك أبداً ، بل عليك أن تفعل ذلك".

"تمكن Ina Mafita الشباب من خلال توفير حلول حول التحديات التي نواجهها. إنه يخبر الشباب ، وهو أمر حيوي لأن المعلومات قوة. لكي تكون إيجابيًا ، يجب أن تكون على علم ".

التأثير والوصول إلى هذا المشروع

90%

ذكرت تغيير سلوكهم في اتجاه إيجابي

15 مليون

وصل المستمعون أسبوعيا

70%

ذكرت بنشر الكلمة وتشجيع الآخرين على الاستماع إلى إينا مافيتا

شريك معنا

دعم EAI في توسيع نطاق نهج المراسلة البديلة الرائد في جميع أنحاء العالم النامي وخارجه.

معرفة المزيد

White Dove (Farar Tattabara) Messaging Hub in Northern Nigeria & Lake Chad Basin

This project produces and disseminates innovative radio, TV, and social media programming to strengthen positive local narratives that reduce vulnerability to violent extremism in Northern Nigeria and the Lake Chad Basin. 2016-present

A Project of
Nigeria, Sahel, US State Department

Project Mission — To create positive social change for millions of under-served people across Northern Nigeria, by providing critically needed information and education through innovative media appropriate technology and direct community engagement.

There were no people to look up to. But now with your Ina Mafita [radio] program, we have hope and are starting to see ourselves as the solution. 

– Young listener from Borno State (former member of Boko Haram, now volunteers for a community self-defense force)

Launched in September 2016 with the generous support of the US Embassy in Abuja, the White Dove (Farar Tattabara, in Hausa) Messaging Hub has become a popular, locally branded CVE communications and peacebuilding platform in Northern Nigeria and the Lake Chad Basin.

Farar Tattabara builds social resilience to violent extremism through a community-centered program built around a transmedia Messaging Hub that provides credible alternative narratives to Boko Haram’s ideology and recruitment in Northern Nigeria and the Lake Chad Basin.

 

We do this by amplifying youth voices and positive narratives that reduce vulnerabilities to violent extremism, encourage defection from armed groups, and create viable alternative pathways for vulnerable and socially excluded youth. To date, key program activities include:

  • Three original CVE and behavior change radio programs (over 200 hours of content aired to date) that have a broadcast reach of over 20 million weekly listeners in all 19 Northern Nigeria states
  • Behavior change television programming on our partner TV station, AREWA24, which reaches 38 million weekly viewers in Nigeria and across West Africa
  • Digital literacy, leadership, and technical capacity building through innovative Tech Camps and Hackathons for hundreds of underserved and marginalized youth
  • 35 trained community reporters producing local media content and facilitating listening groups to monitor and evaluate the impact of EAI’s media programming
  • 63 trained Peace Promotion Fellows working to address key drivers of violent extremism and youth social exclusion in Northern Nigeria (including 12 featured on AREWA24’s popular Matasa@360 Youth Empowerment show and seven chosen as YALI Fellows)
  • Pioneering research highlighting the correlation between radicalization and empowerment, with the goal of strengthening offramps and agency for radicalized and at-risk youth in support of social cohesion, rehabilitation, and civic engagement

Now in its third year and funded by the Global Engagement Center of the U.S. State Department, EAI is consolidating these various efforts one comprehensive and sustainable CVE Messaging Hub under the Farar Tattabara brand.

This includes commercial and other revenue generation, television and radio programming, community outreach, online contests and campaigns, social media and tech-driven initiatives, applied research, and alternative messaging training and mentorship for youth leaders and key influencers.

As we expand, we are increasing our quantitative surveying and qualitative program research to monitor and evaluate the platform’s reach and impact, achieving some efficiencies across awards and activities.

The foundation of the Farar Tattabara Messaging Hub includes three weekly 30-minute original radio series:

  • Ina Mafita (“The Way Forward”), a youth-focused CVE talk show, produced by EAI;
  • Ilimi Abin Nema (“The Pursuit of Knowledge”), a talk show focused on Islamic school reform, parenting, and the life of Almajiri children, produced by EAI; and
  • Labarin Aisha (“Aisha’s Tale”), a drama featuring the story and challenges of a young displaced girl, Aisha, and her family as they face related hardships, produced by EAI in partnership with the Jos Repertory Theatre.

After three years of successfully producing and broadcasting high-quality radio content across Northern Nigeria, we are now focused on sustaining and scaling our flagship Farar Tattabara radio programming. We will continue airing the Ina Mafita and Ilimi Abin Nepa radio programs with more interactive formats and more engaging themes and guests. We are developing independent revenue streams to ensure long-term sustainability, further expanding the Farar Tattabara brand and organizational structure to sustain continued growth.

As the backbone of our Farar Tattabara Hub, these programs are a lifeline for millions of Nigerians and are our entry point into people’s homes and minds. We worked throughout 2019 to align Farar Tattabara’s mission with its brand, so that corporations, governments, and foundations will want to be associated with the platform and benefit from its reach.

The Farar Tattabara Hub offers high impact and tremendous reach, with a broadcast audience in the tens of millions. In 2018, we launched a new website, www.farartattabara.com, to house our Messaging Hub, including all our media content, research, activities, and other resources for target communities. Given the growing popularity of podcasts globally, we have made all previously aired episodes available online. This listening platform is being pushed out through our social media sites (which combined have over 60,000 followers), reaching a new online audience based in Nigeria and in Hausa-speaking communities around the world.

Impact of Our Radio Programming

Over the course of the Farar Tattabara project, EAI has conducted several assessments. During one robust assessment of over 500 people, EAI asked people if they had changed their behaviors or attitudes around issues such as non-violence, gender inclusion, and supporting youth as a result of listening to our shows. Ninety percent reported a positive change in their behavior with listeners telling us that they are hungry for role models, for positive examples, for reliable information, and for inspiration. Listeners enthusiastically told us that “Farar Tattabara is a lifeline for us,” that “Ina Mafita helps us to understand that bad things can be changed.” When asked to describe the role of Farar Tattabara in his life, one young internally displaced man said: “Ina Mafita is like a school where we go to learn. Ilimi Abin Nema is like a hospital where we go to cure ourselves.”

The assessment found that Farar Tattabara programs are empowering a new generation of role models and informed messengers who are actively working to improve the lives of their families, friends, and communities across northern Nigeria as a direct result of information and inspiration they are receiving from the shows.

Many listeners have reported starting small businesses, going back to school, stopping drugs, and preventing others from joining armed criminal or extremist groups due to the messages conveyed on our various programs.

Parents report staying closer to their children, especially those they send to “almajiri” Koranic schools. Religious leaders report being more supportive of incorporating academic subjects into the Koranic school curriculum, including math, history, science, English, and life skills. There is increased public discussion of the interconnections between marginalization, drug abuse, and violent extremism.

Hundreds of people interviewed by EAI across the North report changing attitudes about the potential of formerly radicalized youth to be rehabilitated and reintegrated into society. Many elders report a better understanding of the struggles young people face and wanting to support youth, including radicalized or drug-addicted youth, to help them achieve a brighter future.

This shift in knowledge, attitudes, and behaviors has had a positive impact on Boko Haram defections, with increases reported from isolated parts of Borno.

  • As a result of “Ilimi Abin Nema,” fewer religious schools are sending almajiris to beg in the streets while more are receiving academic education, positioning them to earn a livelihood and reducing the sense of isolation and abandonment felt by young boys who fall prey to extremist groups and rhetoric.
  • As a result of “Ina Mafita,” communities are welcoming victims and former Boko Haram fighters back to their communities and are better equipped to understand their experience and support their healing and reintegration.
  • As a result of Labarin Aisha,” young women and vulnerable displaced communities are more optimistic about their future, informed about their rights, and exhibit resilience in the face of challenging circumstances.

 

Being an advocate for peace fulfills me though it has been a very hard journey. I believe that within the six months of my fellowship with [EAI] I will make a difference in the minds of youth like me to shun violence and embrace peace.”

As a child, Muhammad wanted to become a military officer. It seemed like an obvious thing to do after being raised in the midst of constant insecurity: he’d lost his parents at the age of two and had to flee by foot to Maiduguri, the capital of Borno state, following an insurgency in Bama. Grateful to have been raised by his sisters, uncles, and aunts, he says optimism is the key. Now 20, Muhammad lives in Maiduguri with his uncle where he is completing his degree in marketing. He is committed to bringing about a peaceful and violence-free Nigeria as a certified peace ambassador.

"Youth have to be optimistic and know that good things never come easy and know that success never comes to you, you have to go for it.”

“Ina Mafita empowers youth by providing solutions about the challenges we face. It informs the youth, which is vital because information is power. To be positive you need to be informed.”

Impact & Reach of this Project

90%

reported changing their behavior in a positive direction

15 Million

listeners reached weekly

70%

reported spreading the word and encouraging others to listen to Ina Mafita

Partner with Us

Support EAI in scaling our ground-breaking alternative messaging approach across the developing world and beyond.

Learn More