تقييم دوافع الصراع وإعادة صياغة التطرف في شمال نيجيريا

يحدد هذا التقرير المبتكر طرق إعادة صياغة التطرف من خلال الخطاب التفاعلي والبرمجة الإعلامية وتمكين الشباب من المشاركة المدنية مشاركة إيجابية.

مشروع -
نيجيريا, بناء السلام وتحويل التطرف، البحث والتعلم ، وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية

سابينا بهيج

مهمة المشروع - لخلق تغيير اجتماعي إيجابي لملايين الأشخاص الذين يعانون من نقص الخدمات في جميع أنحاء شمال نيجيريا ، من خلال توفير المعلومات والتعليم التي تمس الحاجة إليها من خلال وسائل الإعلام المبتكرة التكنولوجيا المناسبة والمشاركة المباشرة للمجتمع.

في شمال نيجيريا ، أودى التطرف العنيف بحياة أكثر من 30,000 شخص ؛ نزح أكثر من مليوني شخص ، ودمر مليارات الدولارات من الممتلكات الشخصية والعامة. قامت جهود EAI لمواجهة التطرف العنيف في المنطقة بإبلاغ هذا التقرير البحثي المفصل عن الحمامة البيضاء (فار تاتابارا) المشروع - الذي يلهم الشباب لأداء أدوار قيادية من خلال البرامج الإذاعية ، ومجموعات الاستماع والمناقشة المجتمعية ، ومسارات لاكتساب المهارات للتأثير على السياسة وتحسين الفرص الاقتصادية. هذا التقرير هو مورد مثالي للممارسين الذين يعملون مع الشباب لمواجهة التطرف العنيف وغيرهم من الباحثين عن طرق مبتكرة لإعادة صياغة التطرف.

في عام 2017 ، قام فريقان من فريق Equal Access-Nigeria بقيادة الرحلات البحثية التكوينية عبر شمال نيجيريا. على مدار أسبوعين ، أجروا مقابلات على مدار مئات الساعات مع مجموعة متنوعة من المشاركين في 10 ولايات شمالية وأبوجا. استند هذا البحث الميداني إلى مراجعة أدبية متعمقة قدمت معلومات أساسية عن ديناميات CVE المتغيرة (مواجهة التطرف العنيف) في شمال نيجيريا ، وأحدث نظريات التغيير في CVE ، وساعدت في وضع البحوث الميدانية ضمن التواصل الاجتماعي وتغيير السلوك إطار العمل.

أسس هذا البحث الميداني التكويني فهماً أساسياً لديناميات النزاع المتطورة في شمال نيجيريا وأطلع على إطار ومحتوى منصة الإذاعة باللغة الهوسا المركزة على CVE في EAI ، فار تاتابارا ("حمامة بيضاء").

حدد هذا البحث العديد من الموضوعات المتكررة والمتداخلة ذات الصلة بجهود CVE ، والتي تمثل العديد من التحديات الأساسية التي يواجهها شمال نيجيريا اليوم. تحلل ورقة الإحاطة هذه وتناقش تلك التحديات وآثارها على البرمجة الإذاعية CVE والاتصالات تغيير السلوك.

تتمثل إحدى النتائج المركزية من البحث المكتبي والميداني في الحاجة إلى إعادة صياغة التطرف في الخطاب والبحث والسياسات والبرامج ، بما في ذلك الراديو ، بطرق أكثر شمولاً وتمكينًا. كما قال بعض الخبراء - ونوافق على ذلك - يجب أن نسمح للشباب والمجتمعات بأن تكون راديكالية في مكافحة التطرف العنيف.

"نقترح تحولًا مفاهيميًا بعيدًا عن الأساليب التي تؤكد فقط على" إزالة التطرف "و" مواجهة "التطرف العنيف إلى مناهج" إعادة صياغة التطرف "لمراعاة الإمكانيات البشرية ، وقدرات القيادة الفريدة ، والإمكانات المحتملة لبعض" المتطرفين " "نحو الكفاءة الذاتية والوكالة والتمكين ، والحاجة إلى إنشاء مسارات بديلة في المجتمعات المغلقة للأفراد المحبطين للانخراط في تغيير اجتماعي إيجابي."

Assessing conflict drivers and reframing radicalization in Northern Nigeria

This innovative report outlines the pathways to reframe radicalization through interactive discourse, informative programming and empowering youth to engage in positive civic engagement.

Research of
Nigeria, Building Peace & Transforming Extremism, Research & Learning, US State Department

Sabina Behague

Project Mission — To create positive social change for millions of under-served people across Northern Nigeria, by providing critically needed information and education through innovative media appropriate technology and direct community engagement.

In Northern Nigeria, violent extremism has claimed over 30,000 lives; displaced over two million people, and destroyed billions of dollars’ worth of personal and public property. EAI efforts to counter violent extremism in the region informed this detailed research report on the White Dove (Farar Tattabara) project – which inspires youth to take leadership roles through radio programs, community listening and discussion groups, and pathways to gain skills to influence policy and improve economic opportunities. This report is an ideal resource for practitioners working with youth to counter violent extremism and others seeking innovative ways to reframe radicalization.

In 2017, two teams of Equal Access-Nigeria staff led formative field research trips across northern Nigeria. Over two weeks, they conducted hundreds of hours of interviews with a diverse range of respondents in 10 northern states and Abuja. This field research was informed by an in-depth literature review that provided background information on the changing CVE (countering violent extremism) dynamics in northern Nigeria, the latest CVE theories of change, and helped to situate field research within a social and behavior change communication framework.

This formative field research established a baseline understanding of evolving conflict dynamics in northern Nigeria and informed the framework and content of EAI’s CVE-focused Hausa-language radio platform, Farar Tattabara (“White Dove”).

This research identified several recurring and intersecting themes relevant to CVE efforts, which represent many of the core challenges faced by northern Nigerians today. This briefing paper analyzes and discusses those challenges and their implications for CVE radio programming and behavior change communication.

A central finding from the desk and field research is the need to re-frame radicalization in discourse, research, policies, and programs, including radio, in more inclusive and empowering ways. As some experts have said – and we agree – we must allow youth and communities to be radical in the fight against violent radicalization.

“We suggest a conceptual shift away from approaches that only emphasize ‘de-radicalization’ and ‘countering’ violent extremism to approaches that ‘re-frame radicalization’ to take into account human potential, unique leadership abilities, the potential predisposition of some ‘radicals’ towards self-efficacy, agency, and empowerment, and the need to create alternative pathways in closed societies for frustrated individuals to engage in positive social change.”