البحث في استخدام وسائل الإعلام الجديدة من قبل الشباب في بوركينا فاسو وتشاد والنيجر

إن دراسة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والهاتف الذكي واستخدام الإنترنت بين الشباب في هذه الدول الإفريقية الثلاث مكَّن EAI من العمل بمزيد من الفعالية لجلب شباب المعلومات الذين تمس الحاجة إليهم.

مشروع -
بوركينا فاسو, تشاد, النيجر, الساحل, بناء السلام وتحويل التطرف, الحوكمة والمشاركة المدنية, الإعلام التشاركي والتكنولوجيا، البحث والتعلم

بين مستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي الذين شملهم الاستطلاع ، قال أكثر من نصفهم إنهم يستخدمون وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي كل يوم ، وأشار 25٪ منهم إلى استخدامها أسبوعيًا على الأقل. يستخدم مستخدمو وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي من الذكور والإناث والشباب والأكبر سناً وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بنسب متماثلة من التردد (80٪ من المستخدمين الذكور ، 84٪ من الإناث ، 77٪ من الشباب و 81٪ من البالغين يستخدمون وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي مرة واحدة على الأقل في الأسبوع) مرة أخرى ، فإن التباين بين الجنسين والعمر في الوصول إلى الإنترنت / وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي يعني أن عدد المستخدمين من الذكور والشباب كان أعلى بكثير من عدد المستخدمين الأكبر سنا أو الإناث. "

في عام 2015 ، كشريك إعلامي في الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية السلام من خلال مشروع تطوير II (PDEV II) ، أجرت EAI دراسة استقصائية إعلامية جديدة لتقييم أهمية التدخلات الإعلامية الجديدة في بوركينا فاسو وتشاد والنيجر. تم إجراء ما مجموعه 1,500 دراسة استقصائية ، 500 لكل دولة ، باللغات المحلية في "عواصم" كل مقاطعة من المناطق الأساسية في PDev II. بحث البحث في:

  • شبكة المحمول وتوافر الإنترنت والقوة
  • الأجهزة (أي ، الهاتف الذكي ، الكمبيوتر) وموقع / طبيعة الوصول إلى الإنترنت (أي ، الشخصية ، الأسرة ، صديق ، المدرسة ، مقهى الإنترنت)
  • شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي أو التطبيقات المستخدمة
  • عادات مستخدم الوسائط الاجتماعية (أي ، وقت اليوم ، مدة الجلسة ، التردد ، الشبكات الشعبية / الأقل شعبية)
  • عادات المستخدم لوظائف الجهاز (مثل الكاميرا والرسائل القصيرة والمكالمات الصوتية والراديو والتطبيقات والإنترنت)
  • الارتباطات بين العمر الأساسي والجنس والدين والمستويات الحضرية / الريفية ومستويات الإلمام بالقراءة والكتابة وعادات الاستخدام

بناءً على نجاح المرحلة الأولى في تشاد والنيجر (2008-2011) ، السلام من خلال التطوير الثاني (PDEV II) كان البرنامج عبارة عن مشروع مدته خمس سنوات (2011-2016) مصمم للحد من خطر عدم الاستقرار وزيادة قدرة المجتمع على مواجهة التطرف العنيف في النيجر وتشاد وبوركينا فاسو.

تتألف من البلدان التي تحتل باستمرار المرتبة بين أدنى في الإنسان مؤشر التنمية ، ومنطقة الساحل الأفريقي هي موطن لحوالي 100 مليون من أكثر دول العالم الأشخاص الذين يعانون من قلة الخدمات وقلة الموارد. إن صعود بوكو حرام في حوض بحيرة تشاد وأزمة اللاجئين المتزايدة المقترنة بالاستجابة البطيئة وغير الكافية للتهديدات ، يؤديان إلى تفاقم الانقسامات التاريخية بين السكان الذين يحتاجون بشدة إلى المعلومات والتنمية. في هذا السياق ، فهم كيفية استخدام الشباب لوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ومدى أهمية تطوير EAI في منهج التوعية لتمكين الأصوات المتنوعة التي تسعى جاهدة من أجل السلام وبناء الجسور في أوقات الأزمات مع الهدف النهائي المتمثل في تعزيز الشمول لتقليل جاذبية المنظمات المتطرفة العنيفة (VEOs)

Researching the use of new media by youth in Burkina Faso, Chad and Niger

Examining social media, smartphone and internet use among youth in these three African nations enabled EAI to work more effectively to bring much-needed information youth.

Research of
Burkina Faso, Chad, Niger, Sahel, Building Peace & Transforming Extremism, Governance & Civic Engagement, Participatory Media & Technology, Research & Learning

Among social media users in the survey, over half said they used social media every day and another 25% indicated using it at least weekly. Male and female and young and older social media users used social media with similar rates of frequency (80% of male users, 84% of female users, 77% youth and 81% adults reported using social media at least once a week), although again, the gender and age disparities in access to the Internet/social media meant that the number of male and youth users was much higher than the number of older or female users.”

In 2015, as the media partner on USAID’s Peace through Development II (PDEV II) project, EAI undertook a new media survey to evaluate the relevance of new media interventions in Burkina Faso, Chad, and Niger. A total of 1,500 surveys, 500 per country, were conducted in local languages in the ‘capital cities’ of each province of PDev II’s core zones. The research looked at:  

  • Mobile network and internet availability and strength
  • Devices (i.e., smartphone, computer) and location/nature of internet access (i.e., personal, family, friend, school, internet café)
  • Social media networks or applications used
  • Social media user habits (i.e., time of day, session duration, frequency, popular/less popular networks)
  • User habits of device functionality (i.e., camera, SMS, voice calls, radio, apps, internet)
  • Correlations between basic age, sex, religion, urban/rural, literacy levels with media access and usage habits

Building upon the success of the first phase in Chad and Niger (2008-2011), the Peace through Development II (PDEV II) program was a five-year project (2011-2016) designed to reduce the risk of instability and increase community resilience to violent extremism in Niger, Chad, and Burkina Faso. 

Composed of countries that consistently rank among the lowest in the Human Development Index, the African Sahel is home to approximately 100 million of the world’s most underserved and under-resourced people. The rise of Boko Haram in the Lake Chad Basin and a growing refugee crisis coupled with slow and inadequate response to threats risk exacerbating historical divisions among populations in critical need of information and development. Within this context, understanding how social media was being used by youth and how much was key to EAI developing it’s outreach approach to empower diverse voices striving for peace and building bridges in times of crisis with the ultimate goal of fostering inclusion to decrease the pull of violent extremist organizations (VEOs.)

©Copyright 2019 Equal Access International
Privacy Policy

Sign up for The Loop to stay connected