المعايير الاجتماعية وخطر المرأة من عنف الشريك الحميم في نيبال

تشكل المعايير الاجتماعية بشكل متزايد محور استراتيجيات منع عنف الشريك الحميم (IPV). تقيّم هذه الدراسة تأثير مقياس جديد للقواعد الاجتماعية ، وهو مقياس معايير عنف الشريك ، على خطر إصابة النساء بالمرض IPV ، في نيبال.

مشروع -
نيبال, مناصرة المساواة بين الجنسين وتمكين المرأةوزارة التنمية الدولية البريطانية (DFID) ؛ جامعة ايموري؛ مجلس البحوث الطبية بجنوب إفريقيا (MRC)

مهمة المشروع - العمل مع الأزواج لمنع عنف الشريك الحميم في نيبال.

فهم تأثير IPV هو حاجة مركزية لمنعه. من خلال تقنيات الاتصال المبتكرة التي تتناول المعايير الاجتماعية مباشرة ، EAI تغيير يبدأ في المنزل حدد المشروع المعايير الاجتماعية التي تتغاضى بشكل منهجي عن أعمال IPV في نيبال ، وخارجها.

عنف الشريك الحميم (IPV) يمثل أزمة عالمية للصحة العامة ، حيث يعاني حوالي 30٪ من النساء اللائي تتراوح أعمارهن بين 15 عامًا أو أكبر من IPV الجسدي و / أو الجنسي مدى الحياة. "

Change Starts at Home, EAI Nepal workshop
Change Starts at Home, EAI Nepa

في نيبال ، وافق 75٪ من الرجال والنساء بشكل كلي أو جزئي على أن الرجال عدوانيون بشكل طبيعي ، ووافق ما يقرب من ربع الرجال تمامًا أو جزئيًا على أنه من العار إذا لم يتمكن الرجل من ضرب زوجته أو لم يضربها.

وEAI تغيير يبدأ في المنزل (تغيير) يتعامل مشروع IPV بفاعلية مع عواقب IPV من خلال اختبار تدخل التواصل الاجتماعي لتغيير السلوك المصمم لتغيير الأعراف والسلوك بهدف منع IPV. في هذه الدراسة ، يقيم المؤلفون العلاقة بين الأعراف الاجتماعية وخبرات النساء الفردية. هناك وعي عالمي متزايد بالحاجة إلى إحصاءات أفضل حول انتشار ، وأسباب ، وعواقب لقاح شلل الأطفال المعطل ضد المرأة كخطوة تمهيدية للقضاء عليه (شعبة إحصاءات الشؤون الاقتصادية والاجتماعية التابعة للأمم المتحدة ، 2014). 

المعايير الاجتماعية هي قواعد غير رسمية مستمدة من الأنظمة الاجتماعية التي تحدد السلوك المتوقع أو المسموح به أو المعاقب عليه في ظروف معينة. وفقا لالأولي تغيير إلى جانب بيانات أخرى ، تتضمن العديد من المعايير المعتمدة في نيبال هيمنة الرجال على النساء ، وتؤيد العدوانية وتعزز فكرة أن الرجال يتمتعون بسلطة اتخاذ القرار الأساسية في زواج. يُتوقع من الرجال اجتماعيًا إعالة أسرهم وحمايتها ، ويحق لهم الاحترام والطاعة ، وقد يمارسون السيطرة أو القوة لأداء أدوارهم (Ghimire and Samuels ، 2017). غالبًا ما تُنسب الفتيات والنساء النيباليات إلى أدوار جنسانية أكثر تحفظًا ، ويختبرن أقل وكالة ويقيدهن الوصول إلى التعليم والعمل. كما تساهم ممارسات مثل زواج الأطفال ونظام المهر وتفضيل الأبناء وتعدد الزوجات في انتشار IPV. استخدام البيانات الأساسية من تغيير المشروع ، تعتمد هذه الدراسة على بحث سابق في نيبال وعلى الصعيد العالمي من خلال فحص ارتباط مقياس جديد للأعراف الاجتماعية حول تجارب النساء في IPV.

على وجه التحديد ، تقيّم هذه الدراسة التأثير داخل المجتمع وبين المجتمع والسياق لمقياس معايير عنف الشريك (PVNS) على مخاطر النساء من IPV وما إذا كان هذا الإجراء يضيف أي معلومات إضافية غير تلك التي تم الحصول عليها من مقياس المواقف المجمعة ، وهو الوكيل الأكثر استخدامًا للتوقعات المعيارية الجماعية.

Social norms and women’s risk of intimate partner violence in Nepal

Social norms increasingly are the focus of intimate partner violence (IPV) prevention strategies. This study assesses the effect of a new measure of social norms, the Partner Violence Norms Scale, on women's risk of IPV, in Nepal.

Research of
Nepal, Championing Gender Equality & Women’s Empowerment, UK Department for International Development (DFID); Emory University; South African Medical Research Council (MRC)

Project Mission — Working with couples to prevent intimate partner violence in Nepal.

Understanding the impact of IPV is a central need in preventing it. Through innovative communication techniques that address social norms directly, EAI’s Change Starts at Home project has identified social norms that systemically condone acts of IPV in Nepal, and beyond.

Intimate partner violence (IPV) is a global public health crisis, with approximately 30% of women aged 15 or older experiencing lifetime physical and/or sexual IPV.”

Change Starts at Home, EAI Nepal workshop
Change Starts at Home, EAI Nepa

In Nepal, 75% of men and women either completely or partially agreed that men are naturally aggressive, and nearly a quarter of men completely or partially agreed that it was a shame if a man could not or did not beat his wife.

EAI’s Change Starts at Home (Change) project actively addresses the consequences of IPV by testing a social, behavioral change communication intervention designed to change norms and behavior with the goal of preventing IPV. In this study, the authors assess the connection between social norms and individual women’s experiences.  There is an increasing global awareness of the need for better statistics on the prevalence, causes, and consequences of IPV against women as a precursor to its elimination (United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs Statistics Division, 2014). 

Social norms are informal rules derived from social systems that prescribe what behavior is expected, allowed, or sanctioned in particular circumstances. According to the initial Change trial, along with other data, many approved norms in Nepal involve men’s dominance over women, and uphold aggression and reinforce the idea that men hold primary decision-making power within marriage. Men are socially expected to provide for and protect their families, are entitled to respect and obedience, and may exert control or force to fulfill their roles (Ghimire and Samuels, 2017). Nepali girls and women often are ascribed more conservative gender roles, experience less agency and have restricted access to education and employment. Practices such as child marriage, the dowry system, son preference and polygamy also contribute to the prevalence of IPV.  Using baseline data from the Change project, this study builds upon prior research in Nepal and globally by examining the association of a new measure of social norms on women’s experiences of IPV.

Specifically, this study assesses the within-community, between-community and contextual effect of Partner Violence Norms Scale (PVNS) on women’s risk of IPV and whether this measure adds any additional information than that garnered from a measure of aggregated attitudes, which is the most frequently used proxy for collective normative expectations.